The Library Board of Trustees sets policy for the County Library and the Member Libraries.  Members of the Shenandoah County Library Board are appointed by the Shenandoah County Board of Supervisors.   Members may not serve more than two consecutive terms.   There are between nine and thirteen trustees, including a representative from the Board of Supervisors.  All trustees are at-large members representing the citizens of Shenandoah County.   Regular Library Board meetings are held quarterly on the first Thursday in August, November, February, and May, at the County Library.  Other meetings may be called.

The Library Board adopted a new Five Year Plan for the Library System at their quarterly meeting on November 10, 2016.


The Library Board has published a Year-End-Review for 2022 shared here for public information.


  • Raymond Willis, Chair
  • Suzanne Montgomery, Vice Chair
  • Tracy McMahon, Treasurer
  • Warren Halvorson, Secretary
  • David Ferguson, County Supervisors' Representative
  • David Fredrick, Member-at-Large
  • Martha Heisel, Member-at-Large
  • Brad Hittle, Member-at-Large
  • Crystal Hollar, Member-at-Large
  • Bruce McClinton, Member-at-Large
  • Michael Rohrbaugh, Member-at-Large
  • Nancy Upshaw, Member-at-Large
  • Amy Voss-DeVito, Member-at-Large

*roster effective 01/01/2024

Trustees serve four-year terms and are eligible to serve two successive full terms.  When the Shenandoah County Board of Supervisors has openings on the Library Board of Trustees, interested parties can submit their qualifications to Evan Vass, County Administrator, 600 N. Main Street, Suite 102, Woodstock, Virginia, 22664 or via e-mail at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Recent Board Packets

Board Packet for 05-02-2024

Board Packet for 02-01-2024

Board Packet for 11-02-2023

Board Packet for 08-03-2023


Approved Minutes

Minutes 11-02-2023 Approved 02-01-2024

Minutes 10-10-2023 Approved 11-02-2023

Minutes 08-03-2023 Approved 10-10-2023

Minutes 12-08-2022 Approved 02-02-2023

Minutes 11-03-2022 Approved 02-02-2023

Minutes 08-04-2022 Approved 11-03-2022 

Minutes 02-02-2023 Approved 05-04-2023

Minutes 05-04-2023 Approved 08-03-2023